These are just a few important laws to consider when relocating to San Antonio. While we’ve posted these laws here for your review, nothing beats a good lawyer or a call to your local authorities to confirm any changes in the law. Kimberly Howell Properties hopes these reminders will be helpful to you in considering your move to San Antonio, but these are not meant to replace legal advice from a qualified individual.
Texas State Laws
Upon residing in the State of Texas, you have thirty days to do the following: Obtain a valid driver’s license – contact the Texas Department of Public Safety at 512.424.2600. Have a car safety inspection at a certified inspection station. Register all automobiles – contact the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles or Bexar County Tax Office at 210.220.2251.
Carry proof of insurance in your automobile at all times – check with your insurance company for minimum requirements.
Drivers 15 through 18 who receive their learner’s permit must be accompanied in the front seat by a licensed driver, 21 or older, for six months.
Residents younger than 19 are allowed to sign up for Medicaid without their parents going through a face-to-face interview. Applicants may fill out a 3-page application already used by the Children’s Health Insurance Program.
It is illegal to drive with an open container of alcohol in the vehicle. First time violators face a misdemeanor charge and a maximum $500 fine.
A citywide curfew restricts those 16 and younger from being in public places between 10:30pm and 6am Sunday through Thursday when school is in session and between midnight and 6am on weekends. First-time violators face a warning notice and letter home. Second-time violators could face up to a $500 fine.
Residents hoping to empty their closets of unused goods for a garage sale must first obtain and display a permit. Garage sales are limited to two a year, cannot exceed two consecutive days and must operate between the hours of 9 am and 6 pm. You can purchase a license at most HEB stores.
Keeping a junked vehicle in ordinary public view is prohibited by the city. An inoperable motor vehicle without a current inspection sticker or license plate is considered a junked motor vehicle. Violators could face a $2,000-per-day fine.
City code also stipulates that the owner or keeper of any dog, cat, or ferret must obtain a license before the pet is four months old. Any unlicensed dog, cat or ferret could be seized and impounded.
Want to learn more about relocating to San Antonio? Download our FREE San Antonio Relocation Guide.
image courtesy of Price|Photography